Ethereum is on a wild ride

LONDON — Digital currency Ethereum‘s volatility continues.

The cryptocurrency, the second most popular after bitcoin, fell 25% against the dollar across Monday and Tuesday. The price stabilised in early trade on Wednesday before rallying above $200 again.

Ethereum is dipping again on Thursday morning, down almost 5% to $212.22 at 7.57 a.m. BST (2.57 a.m. ET):ethereum

The choppy trade follows a 5,000% price rise for the digital currency since the start of the year. Mati Greenspan, an analysts with trading platform eToro, told Business Insider earlier this week recent falls are a price correction that has been “a long time coming.”

Meanwhile, bitcoin, which has also fallen over the past week, is stable. The digital currency is up 0.01% against the dollar at 8.07 a.m. BST (3.07 a.m. ET).

bitcoin

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: RICHARD GREENFIELD: I am bullish on Twitter and would be shocked if it wasn’t bought within two years

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s