Ethereum has found its price floor

The price of cryptocurrency Ethereum has stabilised on Wednesday, following two days of steep falls.

Ethereum is up 5% against the dollar to $201.17 at 9.17 a.m. BST in London (4.17 a.m. ET):ethereum

Ethereum fell around 25% against the dollar across Monday and Tuesday.

The pull-back follows a 5,000% rise in the price of Ethereum since the start of the year. eToro analyst Mati Greenspan told Business Insider on Tuesday that the decline was likely just a correction after such a rapid rise. Concerns over the viability of companies using Ethereum’s network to raise money also contributed, he said.

Ethereum is a little like bitcoin — an open-source database overlayed with a digital currency. Whereas bitcoin is made for spending, Ethereum’s token, Ether, simply powers its network. Ethereum’s network allows people to write “smart contracts” and people have been using it to raise money online through DIY crowdfundings called “Initial Coin Offerings.”

Bitcoin is also stable against the dollar on Wednesday morning. The digital currency is up 0.24% to $2,322.03 at 9.27 a.m. BST (4.27 a.m. ET):bitcoin

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Tesla’s Model 3 is coming on Friday and it’s going to be the ‘largest consumer-product launch ever’

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s